To become a principal, it is necessary to enroll in an Approved Educator Preparation Program. Contact the approved program of your choice to find out the specific requirements for that program.
To be eligible to receive the Standard Principal Certificate, you must:
To become a superintendent, it is necessary to enroll in an Approved Educator Preparation Program. Contact the approved program of your choice to find out the specific requirements for that program.
To be eligible to receive the Standard Superintendent Certificate, you must:
- must hold, at a minimum, a master's degree from an institution of higher education that is accredited by an accrediting agency, as recognized by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (outside source);
- hold, at a minimum, a principal certificate or the equivalent issued under this title or by another state or country;
- successfully complete an approved superintendent educator preparation program and be recommended for certification by that program;
- satisfactorily complete an exam based on the Standards Required for the Superintendent Certificate.
December 09, 2013
Commissioner of Education Michael Williams announced today that he has named Monica Martinez as Associate Commissioner for Standards and Programs for the Texas Education Agency (TEA).
December 05, 2013
Commissioner of Education Michael Williams today joined Milken Family Foundation Co-Founder and Chairman Lowell Milken in presenting the 2013 Milken Educator Award to Christal Bookhamer, an eighth-grade science teacher in the Joshua Independent School District (JISD).
December 03, 2013
Commissioner of Education Michael Williams announced today he has selected Margie Johnson – an attorney with more than 15 years of prosecutorial experience – to lead the new Texas Education AgencyOffice of Complaints, Investigations and School Accountability.
December 03, 2013
The newly published 2014 Texas School Law Bulletin is available for purchase. The Bulletin is current through the 83rd Legislative Regular and Special Sessions. The cost is $65 per copy. The cost per copy for non-profit institutions is $60. The Texas Education Agency accepts purchase orders from Texas educational institutions and government agencies only. Checks or purchase orders should be made out to the Texas Education Agency, William B. Travis Building, 1701 N. Congress Ave., Austin, TX 78701-1494. Customers may also purchase a copy of the Bulletin by contacting contact Ruth Ann Palm at (512) 463-9744 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.